Liberia: Senate Unanimously confirms Seven Presidential Nominees


The plenary of the Liberian Senate has unanimously confirmed seven presidential nominees following reports from its relevant Standing Committees.

Those confirmed to their various positions on Tuesday, February 6, 2024, include Bill Jones, Deputy Finance Minister for Administration, and Elwood T. Nettey, Comptroller and Accountant General, Ministry of Finance and Development-Planning.
Others are Anthony G. Myers, Deputy Finance Minister for Fiscal Affairs; Dehpue Y. Zuo, Deputy Finance Minister for Economic Management Planning; and Tanneh G. Brunson, Deputy Finance Minister for Budget and Development Planning.
The confirmations of the recently nominated individuals follow recommendations contained in the Senate Committee on Ways, Means, Finance, and Budget chaired by Bong County Senator Price K. Moye, as all 28 senators in session voted in their favor.
At the same time, the plenary confirmed Col. Gregory Coleman, Inspector General of the Liberia National Police (LNP), and Col. Abraham S. Kromah as Director of the Liberia Drug Enforcement Agency (LDEA).
The body unanimously confirmed Sam Gaye as Director of the Executive Protection Service (EPS).
Their confirmations also follow recommendations contained in the Senate Committee on Defense, Security, Intelligence, and Veteran Affairs headed by Lofa County Senator Momo T. Cyrus.
Meanwhile, the President of the Liberian Senate and Vice President of Liberia, Jeremiah Kpan Koung, has instructed the Secretary-General of the body to formally communicate the latest decisions with the President of the Republic.

Comments are closed.